When you don’t have it figured out…

We often keep trying to “figure it out”. We feel and think that we need to figure out our purpose or life in general. It is so exhausting to try figuring it out.

Thing is that we can’t figure it out. We can only discover it. I don’t know what you believe but something that I have learned through my experiences is that there is only One Person who has it figured out. It is in our nature to want control over our lives so we keep trying to figure our lives out. I often find myself in this predicament. The truth is I don’t have it figured out. I don’t think that I will ever have it figured out. My human mind cannot comprehend the “big pciture” only God does. Yes, God.

Many times we feel miserable or unfulfilled or unsatisfied with our lives or circumstance. This feeling I know too well. There has been plenty of time I have felt stuck or stagnant. Many times I try to move forward out of my own strength but it feels all the more hopeless.

Then I remember that I have nothing to worry about because even though I can only see a short distance from where I am God can see beyond even my own lifetime. If you don’t believe in God, well that really sucks. I mean, despite the times I am decieved by my “reality,” I know that I will be okay. Why? Well, because I am His daughter. He has promised to provide and protect me. Because even though I don’t always spend time with Him I am never alone. Not even when I turned from Him. He patiently waited for me to come back.

When people see that I have a BA in Psychology with an entry-level, minimum wage, retail job they think “poor her.” Sure, this is not my dream job and I even felt so miserable in the beginning. As cliche as it may be, everything does happen for a reason. There are life lessons to be learned. There have been times after I overcome a season of my life when I looked back and I realized that my character was built upon by that experience. Yes, I am about to throw in a Bible verse! This is one of my favorites, very true (of course, all of God’s word is! ^_^).

Romans 5:1-5 [NKJV, emphasis mine] Therefore, having been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom also we have access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and rejoice in hope of the glory of God. And not only that, but we also glory in tribulations, knowing that tribulation produces perseverance; and perseverance, character; and character, hope. Now hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit who was given to us.

This, my friend, is one of the promises from God to His children. Being a child of God has many benefits, the most important is where we spend eternity. Yes, I know. How can we think about eternity if we can barely deal with this short/long life? Well, how we live this life determines where and how we spend eternity BUT that is another topic for another time.

My point is this: Rest in God. Rejoice in hope because He is a good good Father. Let His perfect love fill your heart until it overflows.

This of course does not mean “do nothing”. Work. Learn. Put effort into your life. But do not worry.

Matthew 6: 27 [CJB] Can any of you by worrying add a single hour to his life?

You will literally gain nothing by worry BUT you can lose much.

Let’s use our time to explore and discover the lives that God has planned for us. It’s an adventure or a treasure hunt or a scavenger hunt. As unfun as life can be, let us have lots of fun and worry less!

Leave a Reply

